Knowledgebase
Revert Windows 10 back to previous version
Posted by Support Team on 08 February 2016 11:26 PM

Reset This PC

Reset options give two choices remove everything or keep personal files either option removes all apps and drivers installed before and after the upgrade reverting to a blank windows 10

Go back to previous Version of windows

For a month after you upgrade to Windows 10, you’ll be able to go back to your previous version of Windows from SettingsUpdate & security > Recovery. This will keep your personal files, but it’ll remove apps and drivers installed after the upgrade, as well as any changes you made to settings.

To go back, you’ll need to:

  • Keep everything in the windows.old and $windows.~bt folders after the upgrade.
  • Remove any user accounts you added after the upgrade.
  • Know the password you used to sign in to Windows 7 or Windows 8.1 (if you used one).
  • Have the USB drive you used to upgrade to Windows 10 (if you used one).
  • If you revert back to Windows 8.1 some Microsoft store apps may no longer work if so please reinstall from the Microsoft store

If go back isn’t available

  • Check to see if you can restore your PC to factory settings. This will reinstall the version of Windows that came with your PC
  • This will remove personal files, apps and drivers that you’ve installed after the upgrade, and any changes you’ve made to settings.

To do this  go to SettingsUpdate & security > Recovery > Reset this PC > Get started and look for Restore factory settings.

(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
CAPTCHA Verification 
 
Please enter the text you see in the image into the textbox below (we use this to prevent automated submissions).